Multiple Teams · MavPRIDE on Display at Fall Awards Night

Positivity – Respect – Integrity – Determination – Empathy.  These five values embody the mission of McCutcheon Athletics.  At last night’s Fall Awards program, our student-athletes and their coaches reminded the community about what makes being a Mav so special.  This year’s fall sports participants embodied the MavPRIDE spirit, and in doing so, they’ve created a positive culture that is both supportive and successful.  It’s always important to take an evening to honor these fine young men and women and to congratulate them on their accomplishments both in the classroom and on the field of play.  Here’s a quick recap of the evening, and a listing of each team’s Four Major Award winners (due to the length of their season, Football was not at last night’s program. Football awards night is scheduled for Sunday, Nov. 24th)

Seniors Megan Merryman and Joe Sanson started the program with the Pledge of Allegiance and an introduction of the fall head coaches.  Unified Football’s senior Captain, Patrick Muldoon, gave the Keynote Speech for the program. His heartfelt sentiments and kind words for his teammates endeared him to the audience to the point that he received a well-deserved standing ovation!

Athletic Director, Mr. Walden then had the seniors take the stage to be honored as a class of dedicated student-athletes.  39 members of the senior class earned Academic All-Conference this year, more than any other school in the NCC.  Mr. Walden also recognized our two NCC Coach of the Year winners; Sara Sutter (Volleyball) and Branko Isailovic (Girls Soccer).

The Head Coaches of each fall sport then had the opportunity to award their (4) Major Awards for the evening; Most Improved Player, Most Valuable Player, Sportsmanship Award, and the David Ellison Mental Attitude Award.  Here are this year’s fall awards recipients:

  • Volleyball – (MIP Kailee Cornell, MVP Chloe Chicoine, Sportsmanship Kaylee Little, Ellison MA Brooke Humphrey)
  • Boys Soccer – (MIP Carlos Diaz, MVP Alex Gutierrez, Sportsmanship Joel Jarrett, Ellison MA Tyler Raplee)
  • Girls XC – (MIP Hannah Zubay, MVP Ella Kanaby, Sportsmanship Caroline Hanback, Ellison MA Grace Auckley)
  • Girls Golf – (MIP Madison Matz, MVP Sarah Spalding, Sportsmanship Hanna Miller, Ellison MA Hannah Heimbach)
  • Boys XC – (MIP Andrew Riehle, MVP Damian Sanchez, Sportsmanship Gavin Ford, Ellison MA Luke Trapp)
  • Boys Tennis – (MIP Finn Devlin, MVP Gavin Dardeen, Sportsmanship John Shambaugh, Ellison MA Joe Sanson)
  • Unified Football – (MIP Cheyenne Myers, MVP Tyler Harshbarger, Sportsmanship Kaleigh Singer, Ellison MA Patrick Muldoon)
  • Girls Soccer – (MIP Shianne Switzer, MVP Autumn Hogue, Sportsmanship Kaleigh Scheumann, Ellison MA Halle Neibert)

After the conclusion of the presentation of the Major Award winners, each team then broke out into different areas of the school to present their own team recognitions.  This was a great opportunity to recognize the JV seasons, give out special gifts to the coaches, and to continue their fellowship with punch and cookies.


Simply put, it was a great night to be a Mav!